top of page

A Start


Hi.

I'd actually tried to start a website a year ago, but didn't really have any content to upload so decided against it. I thought people would probably be more interested in someone's site if it had some decent stuff on it.

So, to the introductions!

I'm an 18 year-old aspiring filmmaker from the North of England who is taking a year out before going to University to dedicate more time to improving my filmmaking skills, where in previous years I would have been deeply focused on studying. My biggest interest in film in Cinematography, and I have always been in love with photography. A friend of mine from high-school once said that she wasn't worried about forgetting anything that happened in her high-school years since I was always there photographing it.. And she could always rely on me to upload it to Instagram.

I'm trying to keep myself fairly anonymous, and that's why I'm not giving my real name in my username or credits in the films I make. This is for a couple of reasons, really:

1. I think films, in some respects, have a bigger impact on the audience if the orchestrator is kept anonymous. In my last year of College, one of our main topics was Authorship in cinema, and how there's been a debate surrounding it since Cahiers Du Cinema in the 1950s. But, now that we are more aware of Authorship in cinema, we can see that an individual's presence in a film has been important for longer than that (take Citizen Kane by Orson Welles, for example). I like to have as much authorial control over my films as is physically possible - and that's actually one of the reasons I want to go to university so much, as they'll teach me how to work as a team. Anyway, I want to be anonymous because I want my films to be a little unusual, and a little bit of a mysterious thing for people to watch. So, I think the best way to do this in a viewing culture that is so aware of the individuals in cinema is to be as anonymous as I can be. But, I do not want to push this sense of anonymity so far that other contributors to my films are uncredited... Although I do like Dogme95 films, not crediting people for their work just doesn't seem fair, in my opinion.

2. I put this reason as 'number 2' because it really is a secondary reason. I just don't want to be too easy to find by people on the internet. I do love that young filmmakers and other artists like myself can utilise the internet as a way of promoting themselves, but I would just really love for me to be able to make films and upload them without fear that my privacy could be in danger.

This was very weird to write because I've never done anything like this before.. So I'm sorry if this reads in a very weird way for a blog post. Now that I've created this website, though, I'm feeling pretty motivated and I'm now really excited to share more content!

I have a new film in the works. I'm only storyboarding at the moment but I'm very excited about it since it's something I've never really done before, and it's an ongoing project between my friend and I, who is also taking a year out.

Thank you so much for reading!

-Blink.Whiskers

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page